NEW EP, too young to be sad, SET FOR RELEASE MARCH 26TH


“you broke me first” #8 AT TOP 40 RADIO – NEARLY 800 MILLION STREAMS

Rising global superstar Tate McRae is set to release her new EP, too young to be sad, on March 26th via RCA Records. In celebration of the announcement, Tate releases her latest track, “slower” today (listen here).  The Russell Chell (Lil Nas X, YBN Cordae) and Sir Nolan (Nick Jonas, Selena Gomez) produced track is instantly relatable and showcases more self-reflective, intimate lyrics from McRae herself.

“slower” will be featured on too young to be sad along with the smash hit single, “you broke me first,” “r u ok,” “rubberband” and two additional new tracks.  The 6 track ep is available for pre-save now here.

Also announced earlier today, Tate was named as Apple Music’s Up Next Artist for March 2021.  As part of the campaign, Tate releases her Up Next film today (watch here), a Jimmy Kimmel Live! performance on March 30 and a sit down interview with Apple Music’s Travis Mills, where she talks about her modern heartbreak anthems, how she uses social media as her outlet to share her work, and coping with anxiety.

Her current single, “you broke me first” currently has nearly 800 million streams, is approaching Top 5 on Top 40 chart and Top 15 at Hot AC and helped Tate to secure her spot in the #1 spot for 5 weeks on Billboard’s Emerging Artist Chart, on the Hot 100 Chart (currently #21) and #1 at dance radio. The track is currently 4x PLATINUM in Ireland, 2x PLATINUM in Mexico and New Zealand, PLATINUM in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Finland, France, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Norway, and Sweden.

too young to be sad EP Track List

  1. bad ones
  2. rubberband
  3. slower
  4. r u ok
  5. you broke me first
  6. i wish I loved you in the 90s

About Tate McRae

Singer/songwriter/dancer Tate McRae has become the artist on the rise.  She currently has over 1.4 billion career streams with over 3.2 million subscribers and over 450 million video views on YouTube.  She was listed on Forbes30 Under 30 List for 2021 as the youngest musician on the list as well as Amazon’s Artist to Watch in 2021, Pandora’s Artists To Watch 2021 list and included on Billboard’s 21 Under 21 One’s To Watch list. She was also named one of YouTube’s Artist on the Rise, and MTV’s Push Artist for July 2020.  Mixing her vocal ability with her unparalleled dance moves, Tate performed the single on the MTV’s European Music Awards, Jimmy Kimmel Live!, The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon and the VMA Pre-show.  In January 2020, she released her debut EP all the things i never said, as well as additional tracks “that way,” “lie to me” ft. Ali Gatie and “rubberband.”


Tate McRae hails from Calgary, Canada after living in Oman until she was 6 years old.  She made a name for herself as a competitive dancer placing second runner up on Season 13 of the FOX series So You Think You Can Dance, achieved the “The Best Dancer” honor three times at the prestigious Dance Awards, and hit the stage for performances on EllenThe Teen Choice Awards, and beyond. Not to mention, she lent her voice to NETFLIX’s animated Lalaloopsy in the role of Spot Splatter Splash. Tate launched her YouTube channel and her “Create with Tate” music series where she has been consistently releasing original music (check out some here).


For More Information On Tate McRae

Official Website